Keep up to date with every new upload!

Join free & follow Radio Eclectus
Radio Eclectus #57: Roscoe Mitchell at 80 (Aug. 13, 2020)

Radio Eclectus #57: Roscoe Mitchell at 80 (Aug. 13, 2020)

Playing tracks by

Art Ensemble of Chicago with Fontella Bass, Amirtha Kidambi, Lea Bertucci, Steve Layton, Richard Logan-Greene, Art Ensemble of Chicago with Muhal Richard Abrams and more.

Chart positions

This show was 3rd in the global noise chart, 13th in the global classical chart, 61st in the global jazz chart and 69th in the global chillout chart.

Radio Eclectus honors Roscoe Mitchell at 80, starting with the 50th anniversary of the Art Ensemble of Chicago's Live in Paris album (which was not recorded in Paris!) and ending with an excerpt from his newest release, Come and See What There Is to See. Along the way we explore his recent orchestral compositions, and hear him perform alongside Fontella Bass, Muhal Richard Abrams, Francesco Filidei (on pipe organ), Craig Taborn, James Fei, Thomas Buckner, Chris Nappi, Ambrose Akinmusire, Junius Paul and many others in addition to his Art Ensemble colleagues.

We also sample some new percussion music from Bonnie Whiting’s Perishable Structures album and a new CD dedicated to Tim Ferchen. Our 50 Years Ago In The Avant-Garde recalls Berio's eponymous Opera and Zimmermann’s self-lament written just before his suicide. New tracks by Steve Layton, Lea Bertucci/Amirtha Kidambi, Mirela Ivičević, Panayiotis Kokoras, Edward Smaldone and Alexander Garsden/David Stackenäs round out the playlist.


Hollow Earth Radio

Wow, this show is #1 on the US Classical trending chart, congratulations!

Radio Eclectus

Annotated playlist for show #57
Intro. SET 1: Then and now⠀
1. [2:24] Art Ensemble of Chicago with Fontella Bass: Bon Voyage (excerpt). From Live in Paris (BYG Actuel Japan, 1974) with Fontella Bass (vocals), Lester Bowie (trumpet, etc.), Malachi Favors (bass, percussion, etc.), Joseph Jarman (soprano and alto sax, clarinet, flute, percussion, etc.), Roscoe Mitchell (soprano, alto and bass sax, clarinet, flute, percussion, etc.), Don Moye (drums, percussion). NOTE: Recorded August 13, 1970 in Châteauvallon, France (not in Paris despite the album title)⠀
2. [13:54] Amirtha Kidambi, Lea Bertucci: End of Softness. From End of Softness (Astral Spirits, 2020) with Amirtha Kidambi (voice), Lea Bertucci (tape, electronics)⠀
3. [16:31] Amirtha Kidambi, Lea Bertucci: Must I Burn? From End of Softness (as above)⠀
4. [18:60] Steve Layton: A Walk. From After All (NiwoSound, 2020) with Steve Layton (Reason, Adobe Audition, Audacity)⠀
5. [21:56] Richard Logan-Greene: Your Thoughts While Listening. From Perishable Structures (New Focus Recordings, 2020) with Bonnie Whiting (percussion). NOTE: Composed 2014⠀
6. [30:25] Art Ensemble of Chicago with Muhal Richard Abrams: Nonaah. From Fanfare For The Warriors (Atlantic Records, 1973) with Muhal Richard Abrams (piano), Lester Bowie (trumpet, percussion), Malachi Favors Maghostut (bass, percussion), Joseph Jarman (saxophones, clarinets, percussion), Roscoe Mitchell (saxophones, clarinets, flute, percussion), Don Moye (drums, percussion). NOTE: Composed by Roscoe Mitchell⠀

Voice break with Mitchell: Nonaah (solo alto sax) & Zimmermann: Die Soldaten. SET 2: 50 years ago in the avant-garde [36:09]⠀
1. [45:17] Bernd Alois Zimmermann: Stille und Umkehr. From Zeitgenössische Musik in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland 5 (Deutsche Harmonia Mundi, 1983) with hr-Sinfonieorchester - Frankfurt Radio Symphony, Hans Zender. NOTE: Composed 1970, shortly before Zimmermann's death on August 10. Recorded 1975. For more on Zimmermann, see…/bernd-alois-zimmermann-a…/⠀
2. [55:05] Art Ensemble of Chicago: Prayer For Jimbo Kwesi. From The Third Decade (ECM Records, 1984) with Lester Bowie (trumpet, flugelhorn, etc.), Joseph Jarman (saxophones, flutes, synthesizer, percussion), Roscoe Mitchell (saxophones, flutes, percussion), Malachi Favors Maghostut (bass, etc.), Famoudou Don Moye (drums, percussion). NOTE: Composed by Joseph Jarman⠀
3. [1:04:55] Edward Smaldone: Double Duo. From Once and Again (New Focus Recordings, 2020) with Tara Helen O’Connor (flute), Charles Neidich (clarinet), Daniel Phillips (violin), Marcy Rosen (cello). NOTE: Composed 1987/2006⠀
4. [1:12:48] Luciano Berio: Air from Opera. From The Many Voices of Luciano Berio (RCA Records, 1975) with Elise Ross (soprano), London Sinfonietta, Luciano Berio (conductor). NOTE: Extracted 1970 for soprano and piano quartet from Opera (original 1969 version, premiered August 12, 1970). This is an LP-only release⠀

Voice break with Berio: Opera. SET 3: Distant Radio Transmission [1:18:33]⠀
1. [1:25:22] Roscoe Mitchell Trio: Distant Radio Transmission. From Conversations I (Wide Hive Records, 2014) with Roscoe Mitchell (saxophone, flute), Craig Taborn (piano, organ, synthesizer), Kikanju Baku (drums, percussion)⠀
2. [1:40:28] Roscoe Mitchell et al: Distant Radio Transmission (2013–17). From Distant Radio Transmission (Wide Hive Records, 2020) with Roscoe Mitchell (sopranino saxophone), James Fei (electronics), Thomas Buckner (baritone), Chris Nappi (solo percussion), Ostravská Banda, Petr Kotik (conductor). NOTE: "Recorded live at the Festival Ostrava Days 2017 in Ostrava, Czech Republic. Distant Radio Transmission was recorded as an improvisation by Roscoe Mitchell, Craig Taborn and Kikanju Baku in 2013 and released as the third composition on Roscoe Mitchell Conversations I. It was then transcribed by Stephen P. Harvey in 2016 with further transcription and orchestration of air sounds for strings by John Ivers in 2017 and finally fully orchestrated by Roscoe Mitchell."⠀

SET 4: Duos and more [2:00:08]⠀
1. [2:02:02] Alexander Garsden, David Stackenäs: Stockholm 09 (Garsden Stackenäs). From Of Another (Duos 2018​–2019) (Marginal Frequency, 2020) with Alexander Garsden, David Stackenäs (guitars)⠀
2. [2:09:15] Roscoe Mitchell, Francesco Filidei: Breath and Pipes (excerpt). From Splatter (AngelicA - Festival Internazionale di Musica, 2020) with Roscoe Mitchell (alto, soprano, sopranino saxophone), Francesco Filidei (organ). For more on Francesco Filidei see⠀
3. [2:18:01] Mirela Ivičević: Case White. From Donaueschinger Musiktage 2018 (NEOS Music, 2019) with Klangforum Wien, Ilan Volkov (conductor)⠀

SET 5: The very latest [2:27:55]⠀
1. [2:30:56] Panayiotis Kokoras: Qualia. From Music from SEAMUS 29 (New Focus Recordings, 2020)⠀
2. [2:40:34] Roscoe Mitchell Quartet: Come and See What There Is to See (excerpt). From Come and See What There Is to See (The Lab, 2020) with Roscoe Mitchell (saxophones), Ambrose Akinmusire (trumpet), Junius Paul Music (double bass), Vincent Davis (drums)⠀
3. [2:44:15] Tim Ferchen: Broken. From Broken (Siba, 2020) with Awake Percussion: Petteri Kippo, Lauri Pekkarinen, Jerry Piipponen, Walter Witick

Radio Eclectus

Photo credits: Luciano Berio by Philippe Gontier, Muhal Richard Abrams by Brian McMillen, Roscoe Mitchell by Michael Hoefner, Bernd Alois Zimmermann via Schott Music, Alexander Garsden via Marginal Frequency, David Stackenäs via the artist, Art Ensemble of Chicago by Christian Rose, Mirela Ivičević via the composer, Panayiotis Kokoras by Stefan Wiernowolski, Craig Taborn by Yibo Hu, Francesco Filidei by Kyoko Nagashima, Bonnie Whiting via the artist, Amirtha Kidambi & Lea Bertucci by Alex Phillipe Cohen