Keep up to date with every new upload!

Join free & follow Dissonant harmonies
Alexander Nevsky (Cantata) (Sergei Prokofiev, Op. 78)

Alexander Nevsky (Cantata) (Sergei Prokofiev, Op. 78)

Alexander Nevsky (Russian: Александр Невский) is the score for the 1938 Sergei Eisenstein film Alexander Nevsky, composed by Sergei Prokofiev. He later rearranged the music in the form of a cantata for mezzo-soprano, chorus, and orchestra, with text by the poet Vladimir Lugovskoy and Prokofiev. It has remained one of the most renowned cantatas of the 20th century.
The cantata for Alexander Nevsky (Op. 78) debuted in Moscow on May 17, 1939. It was performed under the direction of Prokofiev, and like the film score was well received by the public. It is performed in seven movements, lasting approximately 40 minutes. It is sung in Russian, but Prokofiev utilized Latin for the third and fifth movements.
Alexander Nevsky (cantata)
Alexander Nevsky Chicago Sympnony, Fritz Reiner. Mezzo-soprano Vocals – Rosalind Elias, Margaret Hillis, Chorus Director



I love this movie and this music, but I think that you must comment that this version is singing in English and not in Russian.