Keep up to date with every new upload!

Join free & follow Research at the National Archi
Share
  • 6 years ago
The Historical Significance of Genealogy- Pearl-Alice Marsh

The Historical Significance of Genealogy- Pearl-Alice Marsh

9pm Est, 8pm Central, 7pm Mountain, 6pm Pacific
Is genealogy just documenting your blood line or is it telling a larger story about the time and place your family lived?

Dr. Pearl-Alice Marsh will answer this question and others as she explores why understanding history is significant to your genealogy research.

Dr. Pearl-Alice Marsh began her genealogical research 20 years ago and she currently serves as the Global Health Policy Director for ONE and is responsible for developing and coordinating the global health strategy.

She was also instrumental in getting legislation passed and signed by President William Clinton to preserve the Freedmen's Bureau Records. The records are microfilmed, and available for genealogical researchers. The bill, The Freedmen's Bureau Preservation Act of 2000 (HR 5157) was signed into law during the 106th Congress.

Dr. Marsh holds a Ph.D. in political Science and Master of Public Health from the University of California at Berkeley, and B.A. in

Comments