Keep up to date with every new upload!

Join free & follow Radio Eclectus
Radio Eclectus #38: Goodbye Penderecki, Greetings Sorabji (Apr. 2, 2020)

Radio Eclectus #38: Goodbye Penderecki, Greetings Sorabji (Apr. 2, 2020)

Playing tracks by

Ken Vandermark, KONSTRUKT, Grey Frequency, Sarah Davachi, Matías Riquelme, Fernando Ulzión, London Experimental Ensemble and more.

Chart positions

This show was 4th in the global noise chart, 7th in the global experimental ambient chart and 15th in the global classical chart.

This week we bid a reluctant farewell to Krzysztof Penderecki with a look back at his high-impact sonorist works and their wary reception by audiences. We introduce the first recording of Kaikhosru Sorabji’s 2½ hour Second Toccata with a tidy 45-minute extract. And we highlight new tracks from Sarah Davachi, Grey Frequency, Ken Vandermark & KONSTRUKT, Nurse With Wound, the London Experimental Ensemble and the duo of Matías Riquelme & Fernando Ulzión, alongside Cancelled Music by Jeff Herriott and Hound Dog Taylor’s Hand. Radical new music from the Northwest and beyond with host Michael Schell.

Also featured: Third Coast Percussion, Due East, Abel Sánchez-Aguilera and Antoni Wit on the Naxos, New Focus, Piano Classics, United Diaries, Karlrecords, Weird Garden, Fundacja Słuchaj and Split Rock labels. Photo credits and annotated playlist in comments. Stay home and listen to Radio Eclectus!

"A phenomenon of sonic outrage" -Doctor Nerve

#WeGotThisSeattle #SeattleTogether


Radio Eclectus

Annotated playlist for show #38⠀

Intro and SET 1: New improvised and electronic tracks⠀
1. [2:24] Ken Vandermark, KONSTRUKT: Diggin' That Harmolody. From Kozmik Bazaar (Karlrecords, 2019) with Ken Vandermark (clarinet, tenor saxophone), KONSTRUKT: Korhan Futacı (alto saxophone, vocals, loops), Umut Çağlar (electric guitar, synthesizer, guimbri), Apostolos Sideris (double bass), Berkan Tilavel (drums, electronic drums)⠀
2. [7:25] Ken Vandermark, KONSTRUKT: East of West, West of East. From Kozmik Bazaar (credits as above)⠀
3. [13:09] Grey Frequency: Lost Ferric Souls. From Weird Harvest: A Weird Garden Collection (Weird Garden, 2020)⠀
4. [17:27] Sarah Davachi: Third Triad. From Horae (Bandcamp, 2020) with Sarah Davachi (Korg PS-3100 + tape echo)⠀
5. [23:51] Matías Riquelme, Fernando Ulzión: Footprints. From La Trahison des Mots (Fundacja Słuchaj, 2020) with Matias Riquelme (cello), Fernando Ulzion (soprano and alto saxophone)⠀
6. [27:12] Matías Riquelme, Fernando Ulzión: Sephardic Light. From La Trahison des Mots (credits as above)⠀

SET 2: RIP Carole Finer, and Cancelled Music⠀
1. [35:14] London Experimental Ensemble: Captain Wedderburn's Courtship. From Child Ballads Exclusive Bonus Tracks (Split Rock Records, 2020) with Ed Pettersen (vocals, resonator guitar), Carole Finer (Cümbüş, violin, objects), Antonio Acunzo (piano, electric bass, effects), John Eyles (saxophone), Tony Hardie-Bick (piano), Ken Ikeda, Daniel Kordik (synthesizers), Edward Lucas (trombone), Keisuke Matsui (electric guitar), NO Moore (electric guitar), Jordan Muscatello (double bass), Joe Wright (saxophone, electronics)⠀
2. [54:48] Hound Dog Taylor's Hand: Let's Talk About It On Sunday. From Unease EP (Bandcamp, 2020) with Greg Kelley (trumpet), Jeffery Taylor (guitar), John Seman (contrabass), Mark Ostrowski (drums)⠀
3. [59:13] Jeff Herriott: Between the Sun and the Shade. From The Stone Tapestry (New Focus, 2017) with Due East: Erin Lesser (flute), Gregory Beyer (percussion), Third Coast Percussion: David Skidmore, Robert Dillon, Peter Martin, Sean Connors⠀

SET 3: RIP Krzysztof Penderecki 1⠀
1. [1:05:50] Krzysztof Penderecki: Threnody to the Victims of Hiroshima. From Horn and Violin Concertos (London Philharmonic Orchestra, 2020) with London Philharmonic Orchestra, Krzysztof Penderecki (conductor). NOTE: Composed 1960, premiered 1961, recorded 2015⠀

SET 4: RIP Krzysztof Penderecki 2⠀
1. [1:18:05] Krzysztof Penderecki: Symphony No. 1 (excerpt). From Complete Symphonies (DUX, 2013) with Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra, Krzysztof Penderecki (conductor). NOTE: Composed 1973, recorded 2011⠀
2. [1:29:50] Krzysztof Penderecki: Utrenja, Part 1 (Entombment) - Songs of Praise. From Utrenja (Naxos, 2009) with Iwona Hossa (soprano), Agnieszka Rehlis (mezzo-soprano), Piotr Kusiewicz (tenor), Piotr Nowacki (bass), Gennady Bezzubenkov (basso profondo), Warsaw National Philharmonic Choir and Orchestra, Antoni Wit. NOTE: Composed 1970⠀

SET 5: Sorabji⠀
1. [1:49:31] Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji: Toccata No. 2 - 1. Preludio-Toccata. From Toccata Seconda per pianoforte (Piano Classics, 2020) with Abel Sánchez-Aguilera (piano). NOTE: Composed 1933–34. First recording⠀
2. [2:04:43] Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji: Toccata No. 2 - 5. Ostinato. From Toccata Seconda per pianoforte (credits as above)⠀
3. [2:26:34] Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji: Toccata No. 2 - 7. Interludio: Moto perpetuo. From Toccata Seconda per pianoforte (credits as above)⠀

SET 6: Nurse With Wound⠀
1. [2:37:11] Nurse With Wound: Of. From Trippin' Musik (United Dairies, 2020, originally released on LP 2019)

Radio Eclectus

Photos credits: Hound Dog Taylor’s Hand, Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji by Joan Muspratt, Nurse With Wound by Redheadwalking via Flickr, Jeff Herriott via the composer, Ken Vandermark by Maarten Kerkhof, Carole Finer by Stefan Szczelkun, Krzysztof Penderecki by Romina Santarelli, Sarah Davachi by Alex Waber.