Keep up to date with every new upload!

Join free & follow Headphone Commute
James Heather - Moving Sounds

James Heather - Moving Sounds

Playing tracks by

Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The London Symphony Orchestra, Loscil, 36, 36 & awakened souls, Arushi Jain & OSE and more.

Chart positions

This show was 1st in the global instrumental chart, 4th in the global eclectic chart and 16th in the global ambient chart.

James Heather is a pianist, composer, and publicist for Ninja Tune that has appeared on Headphone Commute on numerous occasions. James and I have a mutual passion for sharing the music that we discover. A few years ago, he’s made an ambient focused Headphone Commute Mix for this very same podcast. Today I’m syndicating his selection originally appearing on his very own Moving Sounds program that he runs on London’s Soho Radio. This monthly show “was born out of the long-running playlist of the same name created by James that explores spaces between classical, electronic, ambient, soul, jazz, drone, film soundtrack, folk, field recordings & other transporting sounds from the past but mostly from now.” This particular mix is featuring many of my favourite composers whom I am honoured to call friends, and I was even happy to contribute a track of my own. In the case of mixes, I always follow the “less words – more music” formula, so hit play!

And be sure to follow @jamesheathersounds


The Dandy
The Dandy




Guido's Lounge Café

ow.. exquisite.. very special.. well done :)


Nice one Guido


Nice mix, thanks. )


thank you Director

Leider Ich
Leider Ich

Great Work!


thanks Leider!

Katie O'Looney

Enjoying this! Thank you


fascinating. thank you.



Headphone Commute

Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The London Symphony Orchestra - Movement 8 (Luaka Bop)
Loscil - Vespera (kranky)
36 - Empathy Burnout (3six)
36 & awakened souls - Past Self (Past Inside The Present)
Arushi Jain & OSE - Sense of Self (Spontaneous Affinity)
Penelope Trappes - Fur & Feather (Houndstooth)
Clemens Christian Poetzsch - Solitaer (Neue Meister)
Mike Lazarev - Portrait of a Lady with a Fan (Self Released)
Rafael Anton Irisarri - Distance (Room40)
Fadi Tabbal & Julia Sabra - Roots (Ruptured)
Arushi Jain & OSE - Drown Out the Noise With Your Silence (GHUNGHRU)
TM404 - Ulf Eriksson (Konta Muzik)
Abul Mogard - Sand (Ecstatic Recordings)
Anna Yarbrough - Somewhere in a wooden cabin (Rhodium)
Josh Semans - Holding Pattern (Our Waves)
Clemens Christian Poetzsch - Kleines Silber (Neue Meister)
Pepo Galán - Soledad (Stereoscenic)
Markus Guentner - Overtone (David's Song) (ASIP)
Godspeed You! Black Emperor- OUR SIDE HAS TO WIN (for D.H.) (Constellation)
Laura Masotto - Blue Marble (7Ki)
Scanner - Shuffleless (Bette)
Jessica Roch - Power Dynamic (Self Released)
Rutger Hoedemaekers - An Explanation For Its Own Sake (130701)
Vanbur - In Cold Light (Alexandra Hamilton Ayres Rework) (Manners Mcdade)
James Heather - Passing Soul (Ahead Of Our Time)